Is it really all that importaint to have the posture that they have in the classical guitar books? Its really difficult to find a place i can actually sit like that and play, not to mention the fact that i dont have a footstool.... is there any alternative ways to sit, or could i just sit how i used to play my electric? or can i sit like andy mckee in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExgqnilG4pU ? please be kind lol, im a noob to this style.
Proud member of the r0k 4 Chr15† club, PM christianbassis oe teh raven to join
My guitars-
Ibanez RX-40 (Had it since I was six lol )
A spanish classical guitar
just hold it like you would your electric. i hated that posture so much but its meant to make you pla more comfortably/relaxed. but yea i can play just as well if i held it on my lap as i would an electric so eff that posture. unless you're signed up for a classical guitar competition...then you should probably stick with it.
ty so much
My guitars-
It's more to avoid injury than anything, in the classical position your wrist isn't being bent in a weird way and your back isn't all hunched over. Most people play in the more nontraditional way with minimal problems, but over time it can cause injury to the wrist and cause scoliosis.
oh, is there any way to avoid injury using a normal posture? Is it mostly with the right wrist?
My guitars-
if you play fingerstyle then its a lot easier (for me at least) to play in the classical guitar posture. when i play fingerstyle with my guitar in my right leg my right wrist is bent to the right so i can hit the strings better and it feels uncomfortable. just use something to put your foot up on, it dosent have to be a footstool
For me I never use my footstool anymore, when I need the classical position I just prop my one foot on top of my other and there ya go.

I didn't like it at first either though.