've been playing guitar for about 2 years now (Mostly self-taught, just as a hobby), and thinking of buying a bass just to play around with but may also join a friends band somewhere along the track.

My budget is about $500 AU ($600 at a far stretch) for both the bass and amp together. I play mostly pop punk, but also give metal a listen every now and then so I'm hoping for a bass with some versatility.

For the bass itself, I'm hoping to spend within the $300-$400 range, leaving about $100 for a decent amp.

Bass Catalogue:
http://www.allansmusic.com.au/productlist.aspx?c=41A31E2F-F1FF-4A2B-8204-FD03CDB34C42&p=85360&r=3

If anyone could suggest maybe a pick of the 5 best ones there? (And if you're super nice, maybe a reason why it's better than others in comparison )

Amp Catalogue:
http://www.allansmusic.com.au/productlist.aspx?c=9DB7D71B-1BBE-4D0B-B88C-20EB0811F14B&r=1

^^ Not a huge range there, but if there are any other reccomendations.

Cheers.
I use just a basic squier p-bass and my band plays pop punk and alt rock so that should be fine. as for amp u need to pop into ur local guitar center and screw around with some amps to get the tone you want.
just stay away from behringer amps. Even if you somehow get a good tone out of it it won't last long.
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
Quote by Untitled23x
've been playing guitar for about 2 years now (Mostly self-taught, just as a hobby), and thinking of buying a bass just to play around with but may also join a friends band somewhere along the track.

My budget is about $500 AU ($600 at a far stretch) for both the bass and amp together. I play mostly pop punk, but also give metal a listen every now and then so I'm hoping for a bass with some versatility.