I play guitar.i have been playing for 7 years.
I'm not all that great at writing lyrics. Can anyone give me tips on how to approach writing some?
Think about a topic.
Stay on topic.
Rhyme, without making yourself sound forced.
Variety is the spice of songs - use it.
Good chorus in a son = win. Make a song catchy and it will... well... catch on.
Make your lyrics understandable to the general public.

That's all i got for now.

Good Luck with the songs mate
Rip Kylee Harris 4.13.93-11.28.08
Quote by Capt_Clarkson
tell him that he is the drummer and that his opinions are invalid

Quote by Jim Harkins
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather. Not screaming in terror like his passengers.

one: dont force yourself; it usually comes out like crap

two: try to get some sort of rhythmic idea in your head, as in do you want it to be fast, slow, have a lot of words per verse (so the singer would be fast while the rest is slow), or would it be one or two words per verse?

three: usually what helps me is listening to music i like right before, and usually an idea will pop into my head while im having a personal conversation with someone; because that usually will give me the best idea

four: not everything has to rhyme, so dont try to make it rhyme.

five: this one doesn't apply to everything, but dont overkill a certain word; i overuse the word "mind" a lot and im trying to change the wording of my songs

and finally, six: you dont need every aspect of a textbook songs (verse, intro, bridge, chorus, etc) so if it doesnt turn out like every other song, dont freak out.

hope that helped a little, but i dont really know what kind of advice you needed
im pretty much starting the the ground so thanks that does help. me and my buddy are trying to start up a band now and i want to to my contribution of lyrics so.