I building a EVH Frankenstrat, and I have all the parts ordered but the neck. The locking nut that I ordered is a bottom mount version. I'm going to practice on the neck that came off the guitar first to make sure I don't f*ck it up on the new neck. So my question is...where do I start I'm planning on buying a standard maple strat neck, and routing the area down for the nut. Then drill the holes for the bolts for the nut to come through the neck. Anything pointers? Or things to avoid? This is my first project so I have 0 experience in this area. Thanks in advance!
Routing the locknut platform sounds like a good idea BUT!!!! I would not shave any more than a couple of millimetres at a time as your dealing with a very thin platform of wood to work from, chipping large chunks of wood from the area would be very easy to do.
I suggest doing it by hand and not rushing it. Way up your options there may even be enough headstock surface to mount the locknut after the existing nut (if already fitted with a nut). Be careful and take your time measaure and when you think your sure, measure it again.... good luck.
94 Epi LP. Thin 335 style neck Schaller locking tuners Dimarzio PAF PRO (bridge) Gibson 57 re-issue (neck)
Quote by Nev75
Routing the locknut platform sounds like a good idea BUT!!!! I would not shave any more than a couple of millimetres at a time as your dealing with a very thin platform of wood to work from, chipping large chunks of wood from the area would be very easy to do.
I suggest doing it by hand and not rushing it. Way up your options there may even be enough headstock surface to mount the locknut after the existing nut (if already fitted with a nut). Be careful and take your time measaure and when you think your sure, measure it again.... good luck.

Planned on taking my sweet ass time doing this...and measuring twice, cutting once