Hey guys, well im a massive fan of guitarist like Jonny squiare and jonny marr, and i can play most smiths stone roses songs but i was wondering if any one had some techniques for me when writing my own catchy melodies.
Coz at the moment im totaly stumped as to how these guys write these things.

Cheers for any help

Jonny
sing a guitar part first....cause usually you sing something to yourself that's catchy...the simplest things I play, people seem to love cause you can hum along to it
'I love her, but I love to fish...I'm gonna miss her"
Sometimes, it's best to be simple, and not make things too complex.

Some tips:
Choose a key/scale.
You can take notes from the chord progression.
Start on the tonic note, so the first note in the scale (i.e, start on a G note if it's in a G Major scale).
Make the melody climax somewhere. You can do this by adding in the highest note of the song.
Make the melody finish with the tonic note, so to depict a "resolution" in the music.
Try to tell a story.

Some quick tips. I might write some more later, too. Have fun!
My Last.fm
USA Fender Stratocaster | Roland Cube 60 | VOX ToneLab LE
Quote by JonnyManyTalent
Hey guys, well im a massive fan of guitarist like Jonny squiare and jonny marr, and i can play most smiths stone roses songs but i was wondering if any one had some techniques for me when writing my own catchy melodies.
Coz at the moment im totaly stumped as to how these guys write these things.

Cheers for any help

Jonny

You know, Jonny, your namesakes ( ) also use some pretty good rhythmic ideas.
It's hard to write catchy melody that will linger on in listener's head... Advice about singing the melody is good. And just don't give up on composing. The more you try to write songs, the better you will get!
Quote by Johnljones7443
my neew year reslosutions are not too drikn as much lol.

happy new yeeae guyas.