Hello.

So I'm a beginner. Been playing guitar for around 2 weeks or so. I wanted to buy a new set of strings but when I started searching I got so confused because there were so many different products I didn't know what to choose.

I've been recommended to buy the "DR" brand by JustinGuitar.com, and since I'm a beginner I'll take his word for it that it's pretty good quality-wise.

So, I did an Amazon search and this is what I came up with:

*link removed. look on my 2nd post in this thread for a product list I came up with*

Can someone please shed some light?

Thanks.
Last edited by GooGles4Lyfe at Jan 3, 2009,
Hard to say which strings are good and which aren't because people prefer different strings, different gauges. I personally like the titanium slinky strings from Ernie Ball. I tried them out and thought they felt great on my fingers and sounded good.

Whereas the next person could completely hate Ernie Ball strings and love Dean Markley or something.

Also do you play electric, nylon acoustic or steel string acoustics? Because if you try and put nylon strings on a steel string acoustic etc then i don't think it'd work.

But it wouldn't hurt to try DR strings out. You might not see the difference between strings yet but as you play for a longer amount of time then your preferences will change and you will start to get a better feel for things too.

EDIT:

I should add that I used DR for a while and I thought they were pretty good. Only used them for about 2 months before the new Ernie Ball strings came out (which I currently use)
Can we erase the past?
To allow our dreams to forever last?

Gear:

Mesa Boogie Mini Rec 25
Mesa Boogie Rectifier 2x12 cab

Jackson DK2, DK2M, DKMGT, SLAT3-7, DK1
get a set of 09 strings, unless you tune your guitar down 09 strings wil be just fine. also, dont get any stainless steel strings, they suck big time.