I want to start building my own guitar and I want it to have these things:

Alder flat super-strat Body
24 fret neck-thru Maple neck 25.5"
Rosewood fingerboard
Locking Floyd Rose Tremolo
EMG 81 & 85
42mm neck width

I'm looking to build a slightly modified ESP M-II.

Also, how would I go about making my guitar neck though body? This is my first project so tell me how to do it like you're telling a person who has no experience. Links will help too.

EDIT: This is for buying things off of places like warmoth.com and stewmac.com not completely from scratch.
Last edited by coryklok at Jan 3, 2009,
From scratch? Nothing pre made?It depends on weather or not you have access to tools and a local lumber yard.

Ideal situation, for that guitar $500 - $700 US.

For example, I live in Canada where everything is expensive, I have no local lumber yard, but the only tools I need are for fretwork and a router. That guitar would cost me about a thousand dollars to be able to make.

If you need to order your wood or anything else online, and you have no access to any of the required tools, then upwards of three thousand.

To build a neckthrough, you buy a piece of wood that is the full length of the guitar. THat will be the neck. Then, you glue two pieces of wood at one end of either side, these are the "wings". They are shaped to become the body.

If you really want to figure out how build a guitar, buy a book, and look at www.projectguitar.com .
Enjoi <--- Friend me
Quote by Scowmoo
Otter, you're my new god.
http://www.projectguitar.com/

No experience? You might want to start learning in steps. Do you know how to wire? What kind of woodworking have you done?

Edit:

Quote by Øttər
If you really want to figure out how build a guitar, buy a book, and look at www.projectguitar.com .

Hah, beat me to the punch. I'm stuck unable to build simply because I have no access to a bandsaw or a router. I can't wait until I get the chance to really build!
I Japanese Fenders