I have been playing guitar for 25 years, and I have a friend that just got a bass for Christmas. He has played a little bit before, but got rid of his bass rig at one point, and has just started playing again. He keeps asking me for suggestions and help. I have been emailing him for the last several weeks, and this was my most recent reply to him. I would especially love suggestions from bass players. Here is my email:

You nailed it bro. There is a song by the Grateful Dead (one of my favorite bands), and the lyrics are "The music played the band". That is what happened last night. I have a very good friend who comes to watch us play all the time. He is an old hippy dude that just speaks absolute gold every time he opens his mouth. He says that sometimes people are just playing songs they learned, and other times certain players are a "servant of the muse". "Servant of the muse" has to be one of my favorite all time sayings in regard to music. We should all hope to be a servant. It is always about playing from your soul to make the music better. It is always about playing to make the band sound better, even if you have to lay back. I love to play lead guitar, but what I love more is playing rhythm guitar. I like to find places within the song to add to the overall sound, and it is not about playing as many notes or making as much sound as I can. It is about finding the place throughout the song that I can add emphasis. As a bass player, you will have to focus on holding the whole foundation with the drummer. You need to be one with the drummer. I have played with many bands over the last 25 years of playing, and if the bass player, or drummer, or both are not good, the band will suck. As a bass player, you are taking on a lot of the burden of how good the band is. It does not matter if you have a good singer or incredible guitar player, the bass and drums are everything to a band.