I am a complete beginner and was wondering what would be a good acoustic
to buy. I was in a guitar shop yesterday and had a slight panic at the prices of some of the guitars.
I've a budget of about £100.
There was a guy strumming like a pro in the demo room and I didn't want to feel insignificant asking the staff advice on a £100 purchase...although I'm sure they would've been glad to help.

Thanks for any advice.
Pity the £ is through the floor right now.
www.thomann.de may be your best bet with Epiphone, Fender and their own Harley-Benton ranges in the Dreadnaught and Jumbo sections.
You do get what you pay for but low-end guitars have improved a lot in recent years. Maybe makers realise that selling junk doesn't encourage anyone to stick at it and buy again when they are more competent.
I found the Yamaha F-310 to be pretty good when I bought it as my first guitar (you can get it in a starter pack from Amazon @ slightly over £100) or buy it separately for about 80 quid (if I remember right)

It's all laminate (what you expect at this price) however I thought it sounded pretty nice.
Last edited by kezz at Jan 4, 2009,
Quote by Toker420
you need more $$.

He's right unfortunately. If you skimp now, you'll end up with a piece of garbage and lose interest in it within week. Try to double your price range and you'll be in the market for some solid guitars.

And in guitar stores, don't feel bad about telling the employees you're a total beginner. They generally love helping out.
Last edited by GC Shred Off at Jan 4, 2009,
Dolphin Music always seem expensive to me to be honest.

Although the website is slow as hell, try on here.

Music Street

That Tanglewood is usually £170, up for £144.

What part of the UK are you in and how old are you?