Hello UG. I have been playing guitar for about two years now, mostly chords, and am now starting to practice scales, alternate picking (and tremolo picking), and palm muting. I want to learn how to play songs by Rhapsody of Fire, Sonata Arctica, Hammerfall, Nightwish (The Islander, including the solo's), Stratovarius, and Manowar. Although these are just some of the bands with songs i'd like to play.
I want to play the ballad-like songs, for example Rhapsody of Fire's Son of Pain or Warrior's Pride by Luca Turilli, but i like the heavier stuff, too. Like Dawn of Victory and Emerald Sword by Rhapsody of Fire. Or Wooden Pints and Pine Woods by Korpiklaani. However i do not want to play too heavy songs (Like Slayer, Disturbed).
So, i like power, melodic, symphonic, and folk metal (and a bit of neo-classical).

Here are the songs, if you do not know them and want to have a listen:
Rhapsody of Fire - Son of Pain
Rhapsody of Fire - Dawn of Victory
Rhapsody of Fire - Emerald Sword

Luca Turilli - Warrior's Pride

Korpiklaani - Pine Woods
Korpiklaani - Wooden Pints (cover)

---
Now that i know some of the basics, what easy (and more advanced, after that) songs do i need to learn to play before playing these harder songs? Which techniques are mostly used in this kind of music? What else do i need to learn to play these songs? Do you know any websites with useful resources? Basically, what do i need to learn to play these?
Last edited by robinlint at Jan 5, 2009,
Quote by robinlint
Hello UG. I have been playing guitar for about two years now, mostly chords, and am now starting to practice scales, alternate picking (and tremolo picking), and palm muting. I want to learn how to play songs by Rhapsody of Fire, Sonata Arctica, Hammerfall, Nightwish (The Islander, including the solo's), Stratovarius, and Manowar. Although these are just some of the bands with songs i'd like to play.