I am currently picking on a cheap acoustic guitar. I am a total newb.

I want to play rock, 80's metal and blues.

I was looking at a used Epiphone Les Paul Studio for just under $200 bucks. It seems to fit well and I like the way it feels. I was wondering what is the general concensus is on these guitars? The guitar shop said they would sell me a new one for $330.

Is this a good guitar that will allow me to learn the basics and also be able to play the music that I like, or would my money be better spent on something else?
I own one, and I enjoy it. But I've been playing for 6 years and now i want a gibson les paul. But its totally worth the purchase
Hi! It's a really nice guitar man! I've been playing for over 3 years now and for the begining it's even too good if You know what I mean... If You have that cash, don't think, just buy it!
Epiphone Les Paul Studio 2005
Marshall JTM-60
MXR Phase 90
Ibanez WH-10 Wah
EHX Big Muff USA
Boss DS-2 Turbo Distortion
EHX Q-Tron +
Line 6 FM-4 Filter Modeler
Fender CD60 Acoustic
John Frusciante and RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS UG fanclub.
Guitar center sells the Epiphone Les Paul Studio for 260 to 347. In my opinion, 350 is high because you can talk GC down. Lastly, in my opinion, the lower end Epiphones have always crapped out on me, but for a beginners guitar, its probably good enough.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Search/Default.aspx?src=epiphone+les+paul+studio
Guitars
1998 Gibson Les Paul Standard
1992 Ibanez RG550
Amplifier
1978 Marshall JMP 2203
Thanks, I was also wondering if there are any upgrades that I should consider, like better strings, pickups etc.

Thanks.
Quote by yellojeeper
Thanks, I was also wondering if there are any upgrades that I should consider, like better strings, pickups etc.

Thanks.

well with gibsons short scale i would recommend .10s or bigger.