so i recently started playing again, but just messing around, nothing serious. now i want to get very good and am ready to really practice. I only have limited time to play each day, so here is what i was going to do:

5 minutes - chord changes
15 minutes - scales
30 minutes - work on a song i want to learn
5 minutes - play anything/mess around, play riffs/songs i already know

i know its not much time, but let me know your thoughts. the more i learn the more i can move away to different things like tapping etc but for right now based on my level this is what i plan on unless you guys have bnetter ideas. thanks
Last edited by cantcme2 at Jan 4, 2009,
how about with the 5 minutes at the end you have there practise:
bends
slides
hammer ons
pull offs
?

i dunno just a suggestion
i would spend more time on chords. you have to get them down to learn good songs. you probably dont need 30 minutes to play scales
dave matthews might.. just.. be.. god..

Quote by gregs1020
yes, pointing it at your head will send the sound towards your head.

it's the same with guns too, before you go testing that one.
Quote by uncboy19
i would spend more time on chords. you have to get them down to learn good songs. you probably dont need 30 minutes to play scales

i put a small amount for chords because thats my strong point, the others are where i really need work. thanks for the advice
Quote by uncboy19

i would go the other way, if you want to get fast, you will need to spend more time on scales.
Take five from the song you wanna learn and add it to chord changes. When you get good at the chord changes ( shouldnt take long as you will also be practicing that with the song) learn some techniques like ROFLcamel said
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
Quote by larrythelefty
you make the guitar sound boring

agreed.
Quote by deadringer13