Hey guy's, I just started playing a month ago or 2 and I got some questions I want to be answered and by all means, I'm a nub ^^;;

-How do you know when to stop tightning before it breaks?..

-My string's sound like they're rattling or sounds very loose, time to get new strings?

-Let's say I tried tuning my guitar to something different (for a song) but then when i tried tightning the string to a higher note (like A to G?) but then the string get's very hard and tight. Wouldn't the string break or go further?..

-last question, on the eletric tuner I borrowed, I notice there's like D1 and D2..G1 and G2, what does the number mean?
1. u know its gonna break when its really tight, and its getting really hard to turn the knob up further
2. not necessarily .....
3. it would most probably break....
4. i think its for the octaves....
1. Use a tuner.

2. Either they're tuned too low, or your action is set wrong (too low). Please refer to #1, or have a guitar tech check out your action and set it. Expect to pay about $40 for this service. Once you're a little more familiar with guitars, you can save the money and do it yourself.

3. The strings will stretch to a certain point, then snap. We've all done it once. After that, we never do it again. Please refer back to #1.

4. I believe that refers to the exact frequency of the note. I generally use the chromatic function of my tuner, so I know exactly where to tune it.
You'll just know by experience when a string will break from over tightening.

This is due to what's called "action". If the action on your guitar is too low, then the strings are too close to your fret board and will touch the frets as the vibrate. There are a few ways to adjust this, but should be done by an experienced guitar technician.

I'm not sure about your string tightening question. As I said...you'll just learn from experience.