What do you guys use? I'm relatively new to the bass world. I've been watching people cover some songs on YouTube and there is a lot of talk about using both. Do you get a much different sound? Do you NEED to use both?
Quote by InvaderTSN
With a pick? It's good to use both because it's a lot less tiring than just downpicking an entire song.

Yeah with a pick. Is there any other benefit other than that?
Downstroking tends to add more power, but that's usually only due to human nature. People tend to play a little harder when downpicking, which adds more power to the bass line. It doesn't have anything to do with the fact that you're plucking up or plucking down, but how hard you're plucking.
Quote by PatMcRotch
The term grammer nazi is from the camps in the lolocaust made by Adrofl Hitlol...

Quote by Wasted Bassist
Be sure to rape the blue note (augmented 4th). Rape it hard and exploit it like the skank it is.

Founder of the All-Tube Bass Amp Owners Club. PM me to join.
You tend to get a heavy sound when you use straight downstrokes. I would definitely recommend learning to alternate pick well, using up and downstrokes, it increases speed and can lead to much more interesting bass lines.

I like to use my fingers, not a big fan of picks on bass, but you might like the sound of a pick or it feels natural so just learn to pick well. You can just downstroke, I think it would get tiring after a while, but it could help you build stamina.

I like to play with two fingers and a thumb but occasionally I will use three fingers and my thumb. I can't use four though, my pinky ain't strong enough. I like fingers, feels much more natural on a bass and I can string skip easier too than when using a pick.
Gear:1991 Fender MIJ Jazz/Squier VM Fretless Jazz -> Pitchblack -> Way Huge Green Rhino -> Boss OC-2 -> Boss DD-7 -> Markbass Tube 800 -> SWR 4x12.

Flat wounds. Flat wounds on everything. Everything is a little fatter when it's flatter.