Page 1 of 2
Ive been playing guitar for 5 years and in that time I have learned a lot. Ive had a teacher for three of those years but the past two years I have barely been able to practice guitar due to something being wrong with my wrist.

Two years ago I went to the doctors, and they have tried everything. Nothing has worked, although my wrist is better, it hasnt fully recovered and I have been told it never will, and in short: I have to just deal with the discomfort and pain.

Now, the doctor and I assumed that my technique was what was causing this problem. I went to my teacher and said "Look, my wrist obviously damanged, now what can you reccomend I do?" His answer was that my technique was fine and that everything would be okay. I stopped going to him because he did not offer me any advice and was unwilling to go over my technique. He isnt a bad teacher, but it was obvious he was clueless about my technique. His philosophy was play in a way that makes you comfortable for rock and roll, but when I was learning classical he was a technique nazi and would correct even the smallest deviation. But he refused to do this for my electric guitar technique.

(When I mean technique I mean the way I hold the neck, fret and play in general regarding my left hand).

I dont know what to do to be honest. My left wrist is totally fucked and the doctors do not know whats wrong with it. They wont operate as they have deemed it a futile effort. Ive tried correcting my technique, but every movement on the guitar is highly uncomfortable now and I cannot sit down and practice for anything more than 15 minutes before fatigue and pain sets in even when I am 100% totally relaxed and playing at very low speeds.

Freepowers articles have served as an excellent tool for technique correction, even though I havent needed to go through all of them, I did anyway.