I'm a newbie to the guitar, actually been learning for bout 2 months. I spend my time on the guitat learning songs i like mostly as i figured its the way that i'll get to practise my chord changes with more fun involved.

Should i be practisiing scales as well? what'll they do to my guitar playing/learning?
the biggest thing it does is improve you improve skills but it also helps with making your own songs which is important. also you can transcribe songs by ear if you know your scales well
yup heavydt is right also u should learn to move all your fingers including ur pinky and just strum and pick out chords well. also dont use the same finger for notes..try using every finger possible so u can get them moving which is important
well there are 2 types of scales really.. actually there are probably more.
The two that I am familiar with are

Major/Minor scales - notes
and
The Pentatonic Scales - Soloing stuff

Eventually when you learn both you can put the two types together
>(I'm not to that point yet though)<

arpeggios are important too! -for speed and dexterity

I'm a big fan of the pentatonics/// Major scales not so much.

When playing a song, you play ONLY the song (maybe some modifications here and there)
But the majority is- the specific notes IN sequence.

When playing a pentatonic. (once you learn the skeleton patter and advanced tricks) You can play for hours, making up your own stuff- never repeating. You become the music- and you really hear what YOUR style is.
- to Make ourselves more than we are
I can't to be honest, I really don't think there's an awful lot to be gained from practicing scales.

Now, knowing and understanding scales is a different kettle of fish but there's a whole lot more to scales than patterns on the fretboard. Likewise you can use scales to construct exercises to help you with certain techniques and again that's very useful. However, just sitting there and practicing scales for the sake of practicing scales isn't all that useful.