The only places I've played at were at a school talent show and at church camp, so I'm completely new to this. First off, is it ok to bring a music stand to read your music off of? I want to start gigging, but am kind of afraid I'll forget some of the words and/or the chords. I've been trying to memorize my set list that I wrote up, which is about 30 minutes worth, but I know practice makes perfect. Also, what kinds of events are easy for beginning musicians to get a gig at? I'm 14, so I guess that kind of limits some of the places I can play at... Thanks for your help, I don't know what I would do without UG sometimes...
its not wrong to bring a stand, and in some places no one will notice it.

as for gigs, check any local battle of the bands things, or some free concerts that have openings. you can also drop some recordings and information and places around town that have live music features.
Quote by Diet_coke_head
Hey! Now you can molest you're grandma and she won't remember! Score!!!

Gear:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass
Fender V Jazz
Ashdown MAG 410
EH Bass Big MUff
MXR Bass Octave Deluxe
Digitech Synth Wah
First off, no, it's not usually ok to bring music stands. It just seems kinda weird. secondly, see if a local coffee shop or something has open mic nite. Start off there and you may be opening for someone or being the headliner eventually. There are several bands in my town that started off that way
hang out with other musicians, check the music scene. get to know the local players. let people know who you are. the more people than know you, the more chances you have of playing a good gig. play free shows....play anywhere you can
I'm a dude, he's a dude, she's a dude, we're all dudes HEY!
unless your playing in a choir, the music stand is a no-no gig wise, and as for places to play, I dunno. Do some looking around locally there might be some places that will let you play. I know local YMCA's would more than likely let you and your band play there.