I wasn't sure where to put this, so I decided on this thread... sorry if it's wrong

I'm looking to upgrade my sound card, from my on-board Realtek HD audio (integrated) to something better for recording

my limit is $100, because I'm a jobless high school student working off chore money :|

So right now, I have two I'm looking at

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3594531&CatId=107

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1419101&CatId=107

what do you think, and if you have any, what audio card would you reccomend
Yes what 20 said.

TS, the soundcards you mentioned only improve the sound quality of ur music. They won't deal with latency and recording quality.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
alright thanks I've tried looking it up before but couldn't really find anything...

will these improve sound quality? idc if they don't, but it'd be a nice bonus

EDIT: I'm looking at the cards 20 posted, and I'm looking more toward the audiophile (less external cords)

is it vista compatible? I don't see it under requirements...
Last edited by kylepianoman at Jan 6, 2009,
I believe so M Audio are pretty big on the PC audio scene so they will have Vista drivers. Google them and visit the website to be sure.

Think about what kind of in outs you will need.

You need to think about What you will be plugging into your soundcard? Will you be recording Midi? (if so then you need to make sure your soundcard has midi in.
Do you have a line out on your amp that you will be plugging into your soundcard? (You will need to make sure the soundcard has a 1/4" jack or other connection that will let you do this, I'm pretty sure with the right cable you can use RCA ins)
Will you be recording through a mic or mic preamp? (you might need a mic cable)