Alright, so I checked for an FAQ and I checked the first couple pages of the searchbar for this one, and no dice. Soooo...

Out of curiosity, why are they where they are? I understand the double dots being at fret 12 as that's the second octave.. but the rest I don't really get. I figured it'd be at whole note invervals, but given the strings are 5 semi-tones apart that kills that theory.
Quote by Marcel Veltman
Being a rather mediocre musician myself, I'm all on the hand of Haanz.

Guitar:
MIM '09 Fender Telecaster
Laney VC15-110 Old English White '10
Freshman FOP1DN Acoustic

Bass:
Ibanez SRX590
Laney RB4
Tech21 SansAmp BassDriver DI
Boss ODB-3
probably just to help differentiate them - if you look on large tables / data sheets or whatever, every other line is usually shaded in so you can identify it faster.

In the same way, if 3 5 7 etc are marked in someway, it gives you some sort of landmark to find the frets quickly
Gear
ESP LTD Truckster James Hetfield Sig
120W Bugera 333 Amp
Harley Benton G212 Vintage Cab

Desired Gear
ESP EX Diamond
ISP Decimator
EHX Metal Muff
MXR 10-Band EQ

C4C
Illusory Master
Quote by PuppetMaster91
probably just to help differentiate them - if you look on large tables / data sheets or whatever, every other line is usually shaded in so you can identify it faster.

In the same way, if 3 5 7 etc are marked in someway, it gives you some sort of landmark to find the frets quickly

Theres your answer
I sat next to a nun on the bus once, she said hi

Twitter: @Pikey_P - wise words right there.
Quote by irishman
i thought they were there to let you know where the main harmonics were

does it have anything to do with nodes? i was reading a theory book (and im a noob at theory) but i kind of thought because of the sound waves of the strings they were marked in that way.

oh and it could help with Tap harmonics a lot...but that has nothing to do with why they are the way they are.