I want to learn another instrument so I am more versatile in band situations. What instruments should I learn. Won't get lessons because I can just about afford guitar lessons.

Cheers
harmonicas are fantastic - check out the harmonica beatboxing on youtube!
but i recommend piano
For a band I would suggest either keyboard or drums because these are two of the most common instruments in a band and learning them will allow you to write for them a lot better.

I am a guitarist and a bassist and I would have suggested learninng bass but bass is more similar to guitar so you would learn less that you could use in a band situation. However, bass is a great instrument so if you just want to learn a cool instrument then I suggest bass.
What type of music do you play?

I'm considering taking up cello or violin myself. I like the idea of incorporating a classical instrument into metal.

I've played guitar for about 3 years, piano 7 years on and off and I'm slowly learning drums on the side.
Practice. Play. Sleep. Repeat.

Quote by pearlJam_31490
i take it next your going to tell me that Cb is a note too!
Learn to sing. I guarantee you that'd be more useful than most other instruments.
Quote by kranoscorp
I find that I feel the same about women who play bass as I think of immigrants in America.

I respect them for finding a place in society under a lot of ridicule, but I have an odd paranoia that they are going to steal my job.
Id say learn bass, drums, or something more similar to guitar, like ukalele or mandolin. Drums are alot of fun, but they are sorta expensive and seem to require alot of maintenance. Bass is probably the easiest to get the hang of, since you already play guitar. Uke and mandolin are fun, very portable instruments and are pretty cool to play guitar songs on.
Quote by MeltedMetal
What type of music do you play?

I'm considering taking up cello or violin myself. I like the idea of incorporating a classical instrument into metal.