first post (besides the introduction post)

im a newbie starting out, and i have a couple questions. i have been studying music theory ALOT for about a month now, my bass guitar will be here tomorrow.....my question is this:

if i have say 1 hour, or 2 hours for the day to practice playing, WHAT should i be practicing? should i write my practice session out ahead of time? what the best way to maximize the time you have, but still have alot of fun?

second question is much less serious, what is the best "bass" magazine? if i wanna subscribe to one.
practice some songs,scales.
then after learn theory (with aid from instrument if you need it)
and things about bass'

no idea
Just call me Julius, J, etc.
Taking an Internet break for a while, will come on when I can.
Quote by pwrmax
Scales, arpeggios, get a book of full of exercises. Try learning songs you like.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw_3_13?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=bass+guitar+exercises&sprefix=bass+guitar+e

This.

If you need a book, get The Complete Idiot's Guide to Playing Bass Guitar or Bass Guitar for Dummies. It has a lot of theory and stuff that would be useful for you.
You should spend a good part of your practice on scales, arpeggio practice and building basic technique. Then find songs that help you master and use the knowledge that you are building.

A good book series to do this is Hal Leonards Bass Method I - III.

In the past I would have recommended Bass Player magazine, but the past 18 months have been really disappointing. I've been getting the UK magazine Bass Guitar and its actually been a better read as of late.
thanks for all the input guys. so it looks like overwhelming you guys recommend scales.....ill definetly do ALOT of work on those as a base. i got bass guitar for dummies pdf yesterday, so ill definetly check that out as well.