I'm new to electric guitar so I'm not familiar with guitar amps.
Today I was testing some amps in guitar center and most work pretty well.
Later I grabbed a Epiphone Les Paul and plugged it into a Line 6 spider amp( I know most people don't like it, but I just wanna try it myself).
I set the Master on 12:00, and volume on 10:00.
Everything worked fine until I switch the channel to insane. The amp started to scream with extremely high pitch and loud sound without me touching any strings .
Every one looked at me when it happened. And right now I still lost part of my hearing .
Five minutes later I saw a guy playing the same amp, and on the insane channel, but everything seemed normal.
I was going to ask him but that was embarrassing.

I'm always afraid of trying out my first amp as some amps often function abnormally.
I don't know if it's my problem or not. But I always make sure the volume and master are off before I turn on the power.

Can anyone explain why it happened and do you have any tips for me to avoid future damage to my ears? I'm really scared of trying any amps before I know how to operate them correctly .

Your suggestions will help me a lot.
insane has a lot of feedback, you probably had the volume up too high, or some other reason i'll look stupid for not seeing
I'LL ALWAYS NEED THIS
I'LL ALWAYS NEED YOU
Quote by jon12315
I'm new to electric guitar so I'm not familiar with guitar amps.
Today I was testing some amps in guitar center and most work pretty well.
Later I grabbed a Epiphone Les Paul and plugged it into a Line 6 spider amp( I know most people don't like it, but I just wanna try it myself).
I set the Master on 12:00, and volume on 10:00.
Everything worked fine until I switch the channel to insane. The amp started to scream with extremely high pitch and loud sound without me touching any strings .
Every one looked at me when it happened. And right now I still lost part of my hearing .