My friend has this band right, and they need a rhythm guitarist. I would want to be the rhythm guitarist but I feel like I would mess up and not be good enough and get embarrassed, I have been playing since April of '08 like everyday and I taught my self, I think I'm average at guitar for being self taught, so I was wondering, to the people who are in a band, did you ever feel this way and have gotten over it? and to the people not in a band do any of you feel the same way? btw I still mess up a lot and I still need to work on all the sorts of picking, alternate, tremolo, sweep, etc. etc.
I felt like it at first, but I find it easier to play well when with people personally. Being in a band helps you to improve quite a lot IMO, and if you want to play in one and you get the opportunity, it's a good idea to take it!
Gear:
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Ibanez GRG170DX
Peavey Vypyr 75
Fender Princeton 650 DSP w/ Celestion 80w speaker
Get in the band now. Seriously, if you wait a few more years there is a good chance that there will be nobody to form a band with.

Rythm guitar shouldn't be too complex anyway, just make sure your friend knows what you can and can't play.
Ask your friend if he thinks you're good enough. If you're not, they might be desperate and let you in anyway, in which case you'll improve fairly fast.
Fender '72 Telecaster Deluxe Reissue -> Korg Pitchblack Tuner -> Boss PS-5 -> EHX Big Muff -> MXR EVH Phase 90 -> Menatone Pleasure Trem 5000 -> Line 6 Verbzilla -> MXR Carbon Copy -> Boss RC-2 -> Peavey Classic 50
I feel nervous at first but then its ok to go on stage

PS. I was a drumma but now im a rhythm
Join. You can learn so much from other musicians and from playing with other musicians, you'd surprise yourself with how much you learn in just a couple of weeks.
Then there's this band called Slice The Cake...

Bunch of faggots putting random riffs together and calling it "progressive" deathcore.
Stupid name.
Probably picked "for teh lulz"