I've been playing guitar self taught for 5 years now. I've played mostly metal. I recently joined my schools jazz band and Im having a super tough transition from metal to jazz. Any tips?
turn off distortion

but in all seriousness learn the shapes for different chords like 7ths, 9ths, 13ths, sus4, sus2 and augmented chords. Just learn lots of chords.
Quote by .arkness:.
I did it in the church confession booth. i jizzed all over the mesh in an attempt to hit the priest.
^ I say a guitarist sould have to know how to take lead and play rythm.

Learn keys and modes and listen to some simple jazz tunes and improv behind them and figure out what modes should be played behind certain chords. Its harder then its sounds, and quite challenging...but rewarding if done well. Songs like little sunflower, mercy mercy, put it where you want it etc.
Listen to Freddie Greene of Count Basie's band. Figure out how he does it and get to the woodshed.
12 fret fury
Listen to lots of jazz, get a feel.
*Official Deadhead*

The times they are a-changin'
bottom line is you will probably suck at jazz if you don't listen to jazz. School jazz bands are a bit different since you general just have chord charts to strum along to. Learn 7th chords and extensions.
Quote by allislost
I would say that aetherspear speaks nothing but the truth.
UG Blues Group
UG Reggae & Dub Group
Need Professional Mixing for cheap? Need Vinyl to Digital Transfers? PM Me.
If you're in jazz band, what you NEED to know are extended chord voicings, and what would be great to know is chord theory from triads to 13ths.

EDIT: ^ is right too. I totally forgot, listen to the stuff.
Last edited by grampastumpy at Jan 8, 2009,
What everyone has said about voicings is one major aspect you'll have to learn, and also listen to as much jazz as possible, play along with it, it'll really help.