I have been playing bass for a while now, and I just recently noticed a habit I seem to have when playing with a pick. (I can play with my fingers as well, but lately a pick has come into play more often than my fingers)

When I need to mute a note, or cut it short, I notice that I am often muting it with part of my palm on my picking hand. For example, when playing the verse of "Obstacle 1" by Interpol, I mute the A string by lightly pressing my picking hand on it as I pick notes on the D and G strings. Is this a habit I should break out of?

It only applys to when I'm playing with a pick, but I was wondering if I should stop doing this, and maybe try to exclusively mute notes/strings with my actual playing fingers.
Doesn't sound like a bad habit to me. Sounds pretty natural. I have fooled around on the bass somewhat and it comes natural because I'm a guitarist. Perhaps the only bad habit you may have is playing with a pick. :P
If it's blue, then it MUST smell good.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Playing with my fingers doesn't suit certain songs. I tend to use whatever the actual bassist used on the song.
I understand that fully. You would have to be a bass GOD to be able to play really fast or complex like most artists. I was really only kidding. I just know that there is somebody that claims to be the bass pro and will come on here and flame about you using a pick. But like I said before, deadening the strings with your picking hand is perfectly OK. I used to mute with my fretting hand until I found that it was much easier with the picking hand.
If it's blue, then it MUST smell good.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
You want to be a great among the bass players and learn how to play bass like a freak of nature. There are basic steps that one needs to acquire first

1. Learn the correct hand placement - Your right and left hand need to be in the correct position in order to play the bass effectively.