Page 1 of 3
First off, I'm Asian. My parents are Asian. But this is about my parents, not me. Unfortunately, my parents would probably fall into all the Asian stereotypes.. Right now, I'm getting straight A's, and they're pissed off that I don't study enough and play too much guitar. Yeah, just now they lectured about life and succeeding for like an hour -_-.. Well to be honest, I probably spend about an hour max doing hw and school stuff, and practice guitar for around 2 hours. They say even if i have all A's, I should still study because.. I should.. since I'm a student, and that I shouldn't spend too much time playing guitar since it's only a hobby and it won't matter in the future. Playing with friends, having fun, going out anywhere, all falls in to the "useless to the future" category to them and would say I should get like very minimum of it.

Anyway, I obviously think Asian parents have very bad concepts of life and how they think. So this is a question to the adults in UG, if you'd please help me out ..
How have you spent your time as a student? Do you wish you had Asian parents to force you to study some more? Do you regret not having enough fun while you were young? Are you happy with whatever lifestyle you have whichever one it was?
Tell them you're Asian, they'll understand.

Quote by hazzmatazz
youmakemesmile...

Quote by sebastian_96
Today I stole a girls tampons for being such an annoying bitch.

MUFC

My love for you
Is like a truck
Berserker.
One hour of school work a day?! Straight A's?! What grade are you in?
Quote by Telestar
Trust me man, it's Smoke on the Water. Deep Purple only wrote one song.
Quote by b4t3man

It's really not that hard...
Well... Look at Herman Li.

Okay jokes aside...

I'm classified as "asian" if you consider Filipino "asian". My parents wouldn't give a rats ass if I played guitar 8 hours a day. No joke. I don't get Straight A's but I do try my best and that's what you should tell your parents.