Last night when I was practicing scales I was noticing that they sound from the amp was cutting in and out a few times. The amp is only 7-8 months old, so I would not expect the tubes to be bad. I checked the cables and then all seemed to be firmly in and not loose. I switched guitars and still had the same problem.

Since I am new to tube amps, where do I start? (When practicing today I did not notice anything but of course am still worried.)

Thanks in advance.
1999 Gibson LP R9
2006 Tele John Cruz Masterbuilt
2007 MIA Strat Sunburst
2008 PRS SC-J Thinline Black Cherry/Bigsby (for sale)
2009 Zerberus Hydra II
2009 Custom Red Strat

Traynor YCV-50 Blue
Sounds a bit like a power tube problem, if I had to guess.
Feel free to call me Kyle.

Quote by ibz_bucket
Just so you know, I read everything you type in a Mike Rowe from Dirty Jobs voice.

Quote by tubetime86
I mean in Kyle's case, it is in the best interest of mankind that he impregnate anything that looks at him funny...
Quote by TNfootballfan62
Sounds a bit like a power tube problem, if I had to guess.

Is there an easy way to (1) identify which tube that is and (2) check it out? (I remember in my early youth days--1960s--going down to the local hardware store with the tubes from the black&white TV and plugging them into that machine that had where you matched the tube fitting to the special plug fitting on the machine--there were like 75 different sockets--and test the tube, but I suspect that's not they way it is done any more )
1999 Gibson LP R9
2007 MIA Strat Sunburst
2009 Zerberus Hydra II
2009 Custom Red Strat

Traynor YCV-50 Blue
Well, volume fluctuations or an overall volume drop are usually good ways to know that power tubes need replacing. And when it's time to replace a power tube, you generally want to replace the whole set, not just one.

EDIT: But beyond just being able to tell from playing, I dont know how to tell you when power tubes are dying. I know that pre amp tubes can get microphonic.