Hey, ive been playing guitar for approximately 2 years now, and have done millions of cover going from guns n roses and acdc to rolling stones and santana.

Basically now i really wanna start writing my own stuff. I know the pentatonic scale, and mess around with i but really can find any riffs.

Should i like think of somehing in my head and then play it or something?

Should i base it off another solo and then improvise it?

How should i go about writing a solo? Thanks
i really like jamming with friends.. have somebody play a random rythm (doesnt matter if powerchords or major/minor stuff, just a rythm) and the other one tries to come up with a cool impro. if u liked what u just came up with, memorize it and play it again! u could also record while playing, helps keeping the stuff in mind!

EDIT: and of course u could take another solo as a starting point, always great to start!
Last edited by mmkat at Jan 9, 2009,
You may want to extend your horizon to other scales or modes. The Minor Pentatonic is very restrictive... Look at Zakk Wylde: no matter how cool his riffs are, his soloing abilities are limited (almost exclusively pentatonic). And playing licks fast doesn't necessarily make you a good soloist.

Edit: I'm not dissing Zakk, I like his music a lot.
Quote by gudinge
Wasn't there a thread about this like yesterday?
Quote by ivan_2894
This guy knows what he's talking about
(Ab)using:
* Ibanez PF5 acoustic * Gibson '08 LP Classic * Schecter Damien FR *
* Marshall JCM 2k DSL401 *
* Boss OS-2 * Boss DD-7 *

Eyes on Wah & SD pups
Last edited by tickler444 at Jan 9, 2009,
just play through whatever your making a solo over, just listen very intensly and you will hear empty rooms.. This is were you'll play... Sing a melody that fits or just think it... it will come to you eventualy..