Page 1 of 3
The company I'm working for gave everyone 2 weeks notice a few days ago. Not
surprising since we had both our publishers cancel our development contracts
leaving no money coming in. I've been programming for about 30 years and of
that about 15 doing computer/PS2/PS3/Wii games. While that might be about as fun
as any job could be, if I don't look at another line of C++, or game ever again, I
wouldn't miss it.

So, I'm going to try a shot at teaching guitar. I'm getting content for a web site
prepared and I'll have it up & running in a few weeks. Basically, this will be all free,
mostly guitar tips/lessons/pointers and my playing on display to establish my
cred.

Mostly this is just to give me something to do that's in service to others, as opposed
to making money. I'll have unemployment coming in (which isn't a lot) and just
need a small supplemental stream of revenue. Not even that really, but in this
economy who knows?

Mostly what I'll need initially is: students. What I'm looking for, is good ways to
attract and promote. Things on a more local level. I've thought of a bunch already
(like putting up flyers at schools, libraries, local shops....), but anything anyone
can think of, let me hear them!
Well I teach guitar also.

What I do is I go to local concerts, and if I see enthusiastic guitar players, talk to them and ask if they have a teacher etc.

I also go to local jam sessions and jam with people, and I tell there I teach too, and if they want lessons etc.

It started out with people just asking if I could teach them some, and then it was still like they'd buy me free beers or something, now I do it for money, cause it's fun and I learn new stuff as well occasionaly.

If I was rich I'd probably teach for free, but ye bills and amsterdam is expensive.

I also have quite some musician's friends where we refer people to each other(I refer drummers to drum friend and they refer guitarists to me and I refer pianist/keyboardist to pianistfriends, etc.)