I've agreed to giving some lessons but realised very quickly that I've no idea where to start or how to approach them.

I've been teaching myself with magazines and the internet for 6 years but have no real idea of how a lesson works.

Anyone any ideas on how to approach lessons for acomplete beginner?
well u ask them what kind of music they wanna play
then my teacher tells us to get a list of songs we wanna play
then each week we go through 1 song
but if its a complete beginner just teach them the open chords
Gear
Ibanez RG2EX2
Epiphone Les Paul
Fender Strat
Homemade EVH
Marshall JCM 800 Combo

Quote by freshtunes
its not so much that i feel guilty about masturbating, its the things that i masturbate to that make me feel guilty.
It depends on the skill level of the people you are teaching. If they are beginners then teach them open chords, like the guy above me said. If they are a little more advanced... Then ask them if there is a certain technique they would like to learn, along with a specific song.
For their sake and yours, you probably shouldn't teach them. Point them in the direction of someone who actually know how to teach guitar.
12 fret fury
Quote by Punk Poser
For their sake and yours, you probably shouldn't teach them. Point them in the direction of someone who actually know how to teach guitar.

Everyone who replies to threads on this site essentially also teaches guitar.

Why shouldn't he teach?

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
Yeah, how does a person go from not teaching to teaching following that logic? And also, you have to worry about what happens when all the people who do teach die of old age, since the only option for someone who doesn't teach is to send the student to someone who does.