Page 1 of 2
seriously.
i dont get the difference between black metal and death metal, melodic black metal and melodic death metal. i was just listening to profugus mortis, which is tagged as melodic black in lastfm, they sound like children of bodom, which is labelled melodic death. im a total metal noob, any help that would make me understand better is appreciated
It's pretty much just in the way they dress.... black metal will usually have crappier vocals though.
Gear:
PRS SE Singlecut, blue with stoptail (my baby)
Line 6 Spider III 75 (shut up)
Epiphone Les Paul standard
Cheapo Yamaha nylon string
even more cheapo Fender steel string acoustic
Quote by humperdunk
It's pretty much just in the way they dress.... black metal will usually have crappier vocals though.

No. Incorrect.

Listen to Immortal and then listen to Morbid Angel.

Compare and contrast.
Quote by Mike Birbiglia
I went to the doctor, and they found something in my bladder. And whenever they find something, it's never anything good like, "We found something in your bladder AND IT'S SEASON TICKETS TO THE YANKEES!!

Do you folks like folk?
Real death metal is like Cannibal Corpse, Vader, Morbid Angel and Death.

Real black metal is stuff like Emperor, Immortal, Marduk and Mayhem.

If you listen to it you'll be able to hear a difference. Death metal has a really heavy sound to it and generally uses the death grunts. Black metal isn't as heavy and has a atmospheric feel to it. (I couldn't think of a better word.)

Also, don't trust Lastfm genre labels...

Black Metal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvlSTL4FOzg

Death Metal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oZ85Sf14-Y&feature=related
Quote by HuckIt
I met this chick I really liked and wanted to practice sex, so I practiced on some guy I met at a gas station...
Last edited by Slaytanic6606 at Jan 10, 2009,
That's because Profugus Mortis aren't black metal.
For melodic black metal listen to Dissection, Vinterland, Sacramentum, and Dawn.