So I am buying a really nice guitar from my local Sam Ash soon, and I have been told that it is a good idea to haggle the price down...but Pit, I have never done something like this before, how does one go about Haggling at Sam Ash/Guitar Center/ ect... ?

Thanks,
ReChord
They don't haggle at guitar center anymore. New ownership stopped it because they were losing revenue.
12 fret fury
It helps if you're holding one of their family captive at the time... Other than that just offer something ridiculously low, they'll go higher and you'll meet somewhere between the 2, depending on how good at it you are
I've Made You A Drawing of a Giraffe Fucking an Elephant. Notice How His Moustache Looks Just Like Mine.

Your Mother's Got a Penis
just say if you cant get it down to blah blah blah then im gonna have to look somewhere else and he'll get lower still you stick to that amount and pretty soon he should get close to where you want it if he can
I sell TV's, so I know my things...

Basicly we want you to buy thing, as soon as a customer says "I'm going to look elsewhere", we re-double our efforts to see if there is some deal we can cut.

Also if you can find a flyer for another store that has the gear you want for less. Generally a store will match the price, plus give you a little extra off.

A salesperson wants you to buy the product (so they make money), and they also want to make you happy (so you come back and they make more money). So they will make an effort to get you a deal.
Last edited by Captain Insano at Jan 10, 2009,
Offer him pixie sticks and a wizards hat. I'm sure he'll reduce the price at least by half.
Sail upon the open skies
Quote by angusfan16
Offer him pixie sticks and a wizards hat. I'm sure he'll reduce the price at least by half.

Wizard hat? Does Bloodninja sell guitars now?