I've been playing a regular 6 string guitar for a year, and im pretty good. I think the hardest thing i can play is the lead part of walk this way by aerosmith (original version). So my question is when should i start to learn how to play a twelve string guitar?
Twelve strings aren't that different. You can play the same things on a twelve string pretty much. Bending is a bit harder, and the neck is thicker. But as far as chords and things go, it's really not all that different.
It's hardly a necessary thing, it's used so little. Many people never even touch a 12 string, as it has quite limited applications. Absolutely beautiful sound, but not very practical or useful for a lot of things.

Most of them are acoustic too.
Last edited by webbtje at Jan 11, 2009,
When you feel like it you moron, it's like learning any other guitar... I can play a 12 string and I started playing bass.

It's not like your 6 string playing actually influences the 6 other strings, it's completely different.
I think you maybe should play more guitar, get better and expose things a little more.. Twelve string guitar isn't really a big jump from 6 string.. I've been playing guitar for about 2 years and I haven't even considered of buying a 12 string... But I'm just 14 years old...
if you were to pick up a twelve string right now you could probably play like 90% of the things you can on your 6 string, its not that much of a difference
My Gear
  • Squier Jazz Bass
  • Ibanez Gio GAX Bass
  • Yamaha F-130 Acoustic Guitar
  • Epiphone SG special edition Guitar
  • Traynor Bass Mate 25
  • Boss ME-20B
  • Boss OBD-3
Guys, what if he wants to play acoustic stuff with a 12 string? Why are you saying they are hardly ever used. Yea, maybe they are by certain guitarists, however, certain guitarists, such as my uncle use them all the time. My uncle ONLY has 12 strings.

Get out to your local guitar store and check one out. They aren't all that different and you may find you really like it.