Page 1 of 2
EDIT: plans have changed, its gonna be semi-neck through normal electric(most likely tele shaped), fretted and whatnot and be a 100GBP build once all is said and done... first post left unedited for consistency sake.

and if a mod can change my title to have 100 GBP in it, that'd be sssssuuuuper

this is my first attempt at a build, so bear with me.

The idea:

i was wandering around home depot today and fount a 12x.75x1.75 piece of maple for 50 cents a foot. so i bought it and have a plan for it, shouldnt be too hard, but time will tell.

i've cut it into 3 ft sections, and am going to make a neck through little cigar box type guitar. im going to make it map/map/?/map/maple flipping the grain each time to make it stronger since im not planning to put a truss rod in it. im more or less doing this to practice gluing, and shaping a neck, since i want to make my own for a build sitting on the back burner while i learn. if this turns out good, im going to ditch this plan and make it my neck, route a truss rod and by a real fret board.

right now im gluing 2 3ft sections together(pics to come), then im going to do the other, and goto home depot to browse their wood selection again.

The Plan:

for the ? im thinking of maybe putting a 1/8 inch of dark red oak, maybe another dark wood they have at home depot(no good lumber yards close and i want to do a project today).

now for the body: The plan is to make it a little cigar box slide guitar. The neck is only 36 inches long and measuring against my other guitars its a few inches short of them, but it has the room for the pickups and bridge and a few more inches on the neck. i want to create a little body thats going to fit inside the cigar box, secure it and have the pots and input jack coming out of the box.