Alright so, I love playing guitar, but I figure since my band switches around a lot and our bassist is really iffy, I'm wondering if it'd be easier for me to instead be the rhythm guitarist to become the bassist. Would that be a good idea to try?I've been playing guitar for about a little over a year, (I'm not bad for a rhythm guitarist).

And if I started playing bass, where should I start?(I already have a bass from way back when by the way) What songs should I learn, should I worry about writing my own bass...things (need help with the name)? I played my bass about 5 weeks and then I quit because it almost knocked me out so I quit.

Any help is appreciated :]
Quote by SGlover69
Alright so, I love playing guitar, but I figure since my band switches around a lot and our bassist is really iffy, I'm wondering if it'd be easier for me to instead be the rhythm guitarist to become the bassist. Would that be a good idea to try?I've been playing guitar for about a little over a year, (I'm not bad for a rhythm guitarist).

And if I started playing bass, where should I start?(I already have a bass from way back when by the way) What songs should I learn, should I worry about writing my own bass...things (need help with the name)? I played my bass about 5 weeks and then I quit because it almost knocked me out so I quit.

Any help is appreciated :]

Well regarding as to what music you want to start at, it depends on what music you enjoy or more importantly what music your band plays. I suggest looking at the the "bass songs to learn" sticky and the other FAQs on the top for that matter as well. They should help you a bit.
Quote by cjlane
Well regarding as to what music you want to start at, it depends on what music you enjoy or more importantly what music your band plays. I suggest looking at the the "bass songs to learn" sticky and the other FAQs on the top for that matter as well. They should help you a bit.