All of my electric guitars are hard-tails. I'm thinking about venturing into the wonderful world of whammy.

What are the main pros and cons of the various tremolo types- Bigsby, Floyd Rose, Wilkinsons, etc.?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Bigsbys don't have much range and are rare-ish to be found installed (compared to the other types of trem) these days. They're a jazz/blues/country thing, mostly. Not really a shreddy style, you won't be getting wailing harmonics on them.

Floyd Rose keep tune better than a rock sticks to the ground, but they can be a pain to tune and restring, though this gets much better with practice. You can also pull up (ie whammy up) if they're recessed.

Wilkinsons are basically refined versions of strat-type trems... I think. Correct me if I'm wrong. Their main problem with Strat trems is that tuning can be a little unstable if you use them too much, too many divebombs and so on.

The Stetbars are cool, and need very little actual installation. I think they only fit on stop-tail type bridges.
Last edited by webbtje at Jan 12, 2009,
Thanks for the quick volunteering of info!

I guess I should have been a bit clearer, though...

I'm not looking to mod a guitar- not yet, anyway- I'm wondering about what you can and can't do with the various kinds of trems, and after that, I'll buy a guitar with whatever kind of trem I decide fits me best.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Yeah, I just thought the Stetsbar was worth a mention. I wouldn't dream of modding a guitar to take a Bigsby