I may sound like a n00b, but, I've never been able to do this right..

It's like alternative picking, but on an actual power chord. when i try it sounds horrible. is it something to do with my pick or just lack of technique? I've been playing for a good 5 years and can't get it right.
Equipment:
Guitars:
Epiphone Explorer Goth
Squier Stratocaster
Amps:
Peavey Bandit 112 80w
Peavey KB300 130w
Park Marshall 15w
Pedals:
Digitech Whammy IV
Mics:
Beyerdynamic M69TG
Trem picking?
Let's not bicker and argue about who killed who...
Quote by Necrophagist777
I'm ORION, LORD OF EVIL, give me your soul and breathe in my darkness.

YOU WILL NOT ENJOY THIS......
╭∩╮( º.º )╭∩╮
it will sound different on the upstroke than it did on the downstroke. if you look at some tabs, many artists use strict downstrokes when struming power chords. there isnt anything wrong with your technique really, its just the nature of the thing.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.
you mean you do, for exmple, a power chord on the 5th fret 6th string. first a downpick, and up to that point, everything is alrigth, but when you uppick, it sounds bad?

well, if that is the problem, i don't know how bad does it sound, but i warn you, when power "chording", it sounds better to downpick, cause the attack that the pick has when downpicking, so maybe it doesn't sound bad at all, it just sound less powerful (slightly less powerful) than when downpickin... and hat is normal and there's nothing wrong.