Page 1 of 2
Im currently studying "The Musical" at uni atm, today we watched Jesus Christ Superstar and the music is really, really, i mean REALLY, kool and i think everyone should check it out. Also the narrative makes a fairly interesting point.

All this got me thinking about musicals in the sense of the music they contain. Now most of the older ones are just full of campy pop songs that were written to sell records as well as tickets to shows, but the later 20th century stuff can actually be pretty good i.e Sweeney Todd, regardless of Tim Burton's film version which was bound to garner the love, support and money of his annoying cult fanbase, has music which is awesome and possibly even better than that of Jesus Christ Superstar.

Anyone else got some musical experiences to share? insights? gay jokes?
thank you so much for that elaborate response, i can see u put a lot of effort into it.

@ kid thorazine
Last edited by dispreferred at Jan 13, 2009,
Quote by dispreferred
thank you so much for that elaborate response, i can see u put a lot of effort into it.

yeah I did, it took me about two hours to come up with what to say and another 45 minutes to type it up and revise it.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
My favorite movie evaar is an adaptation of a musical

West Side Story
Life is lame so let me eat your brain
Quote by Vernalagnia
My favorite movie evaar is an adaptation of a musical

West Side Story

im not sure whether to take that response seriously or not...West Side Story is that bad
Quote by dispreferred
im not sure whether to take that response seriously or not...West Side Story is that bad

yeah I know, one of the most lauded musicals of all time is absolutely terrible...

Last.fm
I love the jesus christ superstar film version with the black judas, he kicks ass.

JEEEEEEEEEEHHHHHEEEEEEEEZUUUUUUUUUSSSSSSSSSSSS, oh c'mon c'mon, he won't listen to me ayyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeayyyyyyyyyyeeeeee!!