What's the context?
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Quote by pepsi1187
E minor most likely

an Em is an E Minor not major chord

An upper case M is frequently used to represent a major chord.

TS: Without knowing the overall context, it's hard to be too specific. I would likely approach it by emphasizing chord tones.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Quote by AndrewSchaeffer
what scale would you use over a EM6/9-FM11b9 chord progression? E major and Fmajor

Emphasize the chord tones. Not everything is as simple as "pick a scale".
Quote by AndrewSchaeffer
they are Emajor6/9-Fmajor11b9 sorry

I know that.
im still new to music theory. what do you mean?
[Edit]
or what would you play over that chord progression, giving the first chord used in that rock like progression is EMajor
Last edited by AndrewSchaeffer at Jan 13, 2009,
Quote by AndrewSchaeffer
im still new to music theory. what do you mean?
[Edit]
or what would you play over that chord progression, giving the first chord used in that rock like progression is EMajor

I already told you: Emphasize the chord tones. Running through a scale over a progression like this is going to sound terrible unless you know exactly what you're doing.
Quote by BeerChurch
E Lydian

What in that progression suggests E lydian.
Archeo means with following the chord, play the (extension) notes in the chord

The more chord tones (and the more obscure ones) you use in a chord, the less note choice you have. The chords are already outlined by those extensions, thus any scale will have more "Wrong" notes then "right" notes.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)