Hello.

I just switched out the strings on my long neglected custom LAG guitar. It's the only one I own with a FR tuning system. I am not exactly an expert with this system.

Can someone look at this picture and tell me if it's healthy for the floyd rose tremelo to be up this high?

(click for full size)

It wasn't this high until I changed the strings this time. the strings had not been changed in a while.

Do I need to tighten the springs? I've never done it before and I'm afraid I'll **** something up, but I'm willing to try. If that's the case can anyone give me advice or point me to a good tutorial on it?

Thanks in advance for anyone's help.
no tighten the springs in the back

look at the FR sticky
Vintage V-100, EMG 81&60
Chapman ML-1

Jet City JCA20H
Last edited by SquierLolz at Jan 13, 2009,
You either need to add a spring or tighten it depending on what kind of floyd rose setup you have, there are several variations.

Make sure you loosen the strings before lowering the tremelo: if they're taut now they'll snap with the extra tension.
"You can drink an ugly chick hot, but you can’t drink a fat chick skinny."

Fender: HSS Stratocaster

Modulus: 1991 Q5

Peavey:158BASS
Marshall: MG30FDX
Acoustic: B200
http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/angle.htm

the info you want is at the bottom of the page. i know its an ibanez site but it applies to all FRs.
The Best Floyd Rose Is A Setup Floyd Rose!

Gear:
STARcaster Strat
Dean Tradition Acoustic
03 B.C. Rich NJ Warlock Speedloader
Xaviere XV-599
Epi 1984 Explorer
Crate GTD65
Epi Valve Jr
Bogner Alchemist Head
Marshall 1960B
Quote by gizmodious
You either need to add a spring or tighten it depending on what kind of floyd rose setup you have, there are several variations.

Make sure you loosen the strings before lowering the tremelo: if they're taut now they'll snap with the extra tension.