Hey there, I've got a question about using a particular scale to solo over songs of various genres.

For rock/pop songs in A major, I can use the A major / F# minor pentatonic to solo over them. And for blues in A major, I can use the A minor pentatonic scale over it...so what scales can/should I use over jazz in A major?

Thanks a lot!
mixolydian(b7th)
blues (minor Pentatonic with b5th)
alot of arpegios like 1b3 5 b7 and throw the two and 6 in there somewhere. sound pretty cool. im still a beginner but i sound pretty good when i do stuff like that.
Last edited by amason51 at Jan 13, 2009,
Sorry that question doesn't make sense to me. What is jazz is A major? If you mean a jazz tune in the key of A major, well it depends on the chord progression. You can't just rely on one scale/key center in jazz because key centers are often times always shifting. If you want an actual answer you are going to need to be more specific than jazz in A major.
12 fret fury
jazz in a major doesn't mean its a7 chord all the way through, it could be a I IV V progression in a major which means it's based off of a major. so you play the I which is the root then the IV which is the D then the V which is E
Quote by dominicsoh
so what scales can/should I use over jazz in A major?
It doesn't really work like that in jazz. It can, but most jazz guys view that approach as nooby.

Alot of jazzers "play the changes." Read mark levines jazz theory book, which I'm sure you can find a great price if you search in google |"jazz theory book" rapidshare|. Make sure you know your basice theory first (read the crusade articles).
        |\
[U]        | |                     [/U]
[U]        |/     .-.              [/U]
[U]       /|_     `-’       |      [/U]
[U]      //| \      |       |      [/U]
[U]     | \|_ |     |     .-|      [/U]
      *-|-*    (_)     `-’
        |
        L.
Quote by demonofthenight