Hi there,

My hand size is really small, it's a little over 6 3/4 inches from the base of my palm to my middle finger.

Currently, I have a Fender JV Strat that was given to me a couple of days ago. (Note that I'm a beginner and it's the first guitar I've ever held.) I've been practicing chords such as D, A and E and switching among them.

I was wondering.. Do guitarists with small hands have trouble switching chords or even hitting the right chords without muting any other strings? It's pretty common with me. I sometimes find it nearly impossible to stretch my fingers to certain frets.

Does it feel like that for everyone? Practice makes perfect, but how much practice makes perfect; at least for me. I know it must be easier with others, but I'm just wondering if I can still play with these small hands. I don't plan on buying a new guitar as well.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. :-)
(And I hope I put this in the right forum!)
Last edited by ElephantShoe at Jan 13, 2009,
I though my fingers were too short for the same thing. Its all about finger strength and learing the proper finger position. You're going to get muted/twanging strings at first. Just be patient and over time you'll be knocking out with no problem.
Quote by MommasHooligan
I though my fingers were too short for the same thing. Its all about finger strength and learing the proper finger position. You're going to get muted/twanging strings at first. Just be patient and over time you'll be knocking out with no problem.

Thanks for the quick response. That's what I'm hearing, hopefully I'll nail it down in the near future!
Yeah my hands didn't stretch far at all at first. Now I can reach 7 frets with my index and pinky and play chords perfectly. I also couldn't play an F barre chord for the first week or two after I learned it, but it's easy now. Just practice, try to stretch, your hands will hurt for a couple weeks but it will stop and you will be able to stretch further and be more flexible.