Peavey Valve King Head

Okay, I'm an amp noob ... need of a decent, loud amp (playing for crowds of 400-600) and someone advised my friend (in similar situation as me) this amp. This is the most expensive I will stretch for the head, as I still have to purschase the cabinet.

My influences are mainly punk, pop-punk and heavy metal based. I also use pedals...

Cheers
ValveKing Thread!

But for the record, the Valveking won't do metal without modifications. And some of those cost money. It's all listed in the thread.
Valveking is very versitle, and i have gotten great metal tones out of this amp
Quote by bartdevil_metal
ValveKing Thread!

But for the record, the Valveking won't do metal without modifications. And some of those cost money. It's all listed in the thread.

ah, forgot about searchbar will check
the valveking isnt the best you could do in the price range, but at least your on the right track (not bad for a jan-09er ) get a b-52 AT-100 head, should be much better for a punk or metal sound than the VK will ever be, even if modded to hell

Quote by camhussynec
if ur playin punk. ummmmmmm i would still go with either marshall or line 6

there arent any good marshalls in his range, and i dont think he wants a modeling amp
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand
Head and Cab for $130? You don't need a head and cabinet, you need a psychological examination.
Last edited by nutinpwnsgibson at Jan 14, 2009,
Quote by nutinpwnsgibson
the valveking isnt the best you could do in the price range, but at least your on the right track (not bad for a jan-09er ) get a b-52 AT-100 head, should be much better for a punk or metal sound than the VK will ever be, even if modded to hell

there arent any good marshalls in his range, and i dont think he wants a modeling amp

nah, i dont want a modelling XD more of ... tubes!!!