So I've been playing guitar for 6+ years now. I started taking lessons in the beginning, but quit after a few months due to lack of money. I can play other people's songs pretty well, but I really play much else (i.e. making my own riffs/songs). I was thinking about taking lessons again, but I'm not exactly sure what I tell my teacher to teach me. Is there anything specific I should learn in the lessons? Also, I don't know any theory, so I'm guessing learning some of that would help?
Do u know music theory yet? and how is you technique? If you dont know music theory i would tell him/her to start there. Then tell him to watch you play a few things. He should be able to pick out some of your flaws.
What exactly do you mean by technique? Also, I was thinking about just taking lessons during the summer. Would three months be enough to learn theory. Right now I don't know any theory.
Quote by artievarn
What exactly do you mean by technique? Also, I was thinking about just taking lessons during the summer. Would three months be enough to learn theory. Right now I don't know any theory.

I don't know if you could learn everything about music theory during three months, but it certainly won't hurt your guitar playing. Having even a basic grasp on music theory will help you out more than it will hinder.
Quote by artievarn

Technique is the difference between just managing to play a song and playing it well. It's all about your smoothness, dynamics etc. And it is definitely worth working on.
Would three months be enough to learn theory.

People go to school for years and write dissertations for music theory.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Quote by Archeo Avis
People go to school for years and write dissertations for music theory.