So I'm currently the only guitarist in my band. The keyboard player and me want the songs we play 'a little heavy'. Though I like the genre, we won't be playing metal. The drummer doesn't care what we play and the sax player is a virtuoso on his instrument so he can follow everything.
We will be playing a gig in about half a year. It's for a very 'normal' audience. So it's better if the songs are mostly recognisable. We will try originals too.
So does anybody have suggestions for songs? Because it's my first time in a band so I don't want to make a bad choice coming up with something. Thanks a lot
Quote by razorback91
Im sorry, I just don't see how you could argue that hardcore isn't metal. That just seems arrogant to me.

Yes, its its own kind of metal, but its still metal.
veer towards your family radio stations that play band like nickleback. I'm not crazy about the band, nor the particular type of music, but sometimes you have to sellout to get the attention of the audience. Thats the way I see it. I can completely understand when a band is playing to for the audience.

I've been in both all original bands playing in the same situation as you, and bands playing death metal. The death metal audience, and the paychecks were MUCH smaller.

What type of venue is it? A wedding, family reunion?
That's certainly an odd line-up, but if you want something a little heavy, and something that's recognizable, try something by Chiodos. You don't need to be God at anything really to play their stuff, and your Sax guy could do something interesting over it.
or try some jazz?
Quote by Demonikk
'Practice amp' = amp you practice with? In my case, Peavey 6505+ and 4x12
I don't do things small

Except children.
It's not for family.
It's a real gig. For random people. It's outside, where more local bands are playing.
Quote by razorback91
Im sorry, I just don't see how you could argue that hardcore isn't metal. That just seems arrogant to me.