Is anyone on track and field at school? I'm a complete newb at this whole thing, and conditioning starts next week. I have no idea what events I'm suited for (I kind of want to do high jump though). Any advice for a newcomer?
I love track! I do shotput and discus. Your coaches could probably tell you more about what event to do than we could. I've tried highjump, its fun.
Quote by asfastasdark
+1. This man knows his ****.

Walker Rose.
I did to 400m a while back. I was decent at it. Everyone i knew was surprised
I think we took too many drugs when we were kids,
'cause now we like to make
Weird Music
-Wayne Coyne
Your starting outdoor in January??

I'm running Indoor track currently - started up in November. I love the sport.. its amazing - but its not for everyone!

Basically you gotta get ready for hard work.. if you haven't started, you really need to get running and get in shape. Workouts are MUCH harder than anybody thinks.

Once you start track you really gotta figure out what you are. A sprinter, distance runner, or thrower. The jumpers are almost always sprinters.

Once you figure out what you are best in you really just have to try everything and get used to it.. if its your first year, you may use it to figure out your event.
Quote by soccerguy6494
distance runners are most toothpickish

fixed
I think we took too many drugs when we were kids,
'cause now we like to make
Weird Music
-Wayne Coyne
Quote by iantheman
fixed

ha.
id like to see a fat kid run a mile under 6 minutes

edit: no offence or anything
Quote by extrememetal94
I really hope I have a small penis.
build up strength by running daily, treadmill or outside. Your coach should be able to recommend what you should do for your team.

If there's cuts, a thing a lot of coaches look for is whether your times/distance have been improving, or whether they've stayed the same. Keep that in mind.