Hello UG community,

I have been playing bass now for about 8 months and I have picked it up very quickly and I truly love playing. (it's the only instrument that i play). I didn't get any lessons, i basically learned through youtube clips and tabs from UG and just jumped in.

My question is, the way that i started playing and have ever since is basically dedicating 1 finger per string (thumb on E string, index finger on A string, middle finger on the D string on ring finger on the g).

would you recommend continuing with this way of playing? I look forward to hearing people's opinions as i have never seen anyone else play that way, but that is what has come naturally to me.

Thanks again
Matt
Using more than 2 fingers is a good skill to have, but don't use your thumb, its just not as versatile as a finger. Also, the thumb is the perfect anchor for your hand, rest it against the body.
You'll run into problems if you ever need to play 16th notes on one string, that's the disadvantage.
Squier VM Fretless Jazz
Warwick Rockbass Streamer 5
Ashdown MAG 300 210
Last edited by Ivanator at Jan 17, 2009,
Yeah, using all your fingers is a good thing for sure, but don't dedicate a finger for each string.
You'll hit a wall once you need to start notes on one string repeatedly.
When you say one finger per string, do you mean on your right or left hand?
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Quote by grifff
Out of curiosity what songs have you been playing, and have you had any difficulty playing these songs at the proper tempo?

Thanks for all the great feedback everyone. I really appreciate it. I've been building the amount of songs that i can play without feeling too limited with having 1 finger per string.

Some of the songs i can play quite well are..

Money - PF
Black Dog & Heartbreaker - zep
just a giggalo - DLR