I started playing on an electric, using a pick, and shaped myself into a lead player pretty quickly. I'm catching up on rhythm playing, but would really like to get better at finger-picking.

My main weakness is playing bass and rhythm at the same time. How does one get used to doing that? Any good songs to start?
you practice.

Play the modified verion of that AC/DC song...

damn I don't know the name.

its the video where they are all crusing in a jeep and then get out and start playing
Last edited by Nilpferdkoenig at Jan 17, 2009,
Start out just using your thumb on the low E, and use other fingers to create a melody on the higher strings. Make sure to keep your thumb at a steady rhythm tho, that's the important part.
Quote by Seryaph
You need to douse it in a 20/30/50 ratio of mustard/ketchup/horseradish and stroke it as fast as you can untill the mayonaise squirts out. Then consume.
Quote by Life Is Brutal
Dont follow by AIC, or Down in a hole by AIC, Stairway to heaven, Trying to think of others.

Stairway to Heaven is pick.
Quote by Life Is Brutal
^ Really? I finger pick it lol.

Check out the live version, Jimmy is always fingerpicking.
In their biography it says that he wasn't good with his fingers.
Pop song that uses beginners fingerpicking is Creed - One Last Breath, it's not a bad song to work on the technique.
James uses fingerpicking when they play The Call of Ktulu for the intro clean guitar.
ALWAYS

WANNA BE WITH YOU,
MAKE BELIEV
E WITH YOU,
AND L
IVE IN HARMONY, HARMONY,

OH, LOOVE!
i found that going in 1 direction helped me get used to using all my fingers...

beethoven-moon light sonata
led zepplin-babe im gonna leave you

moon light sonota gets hard i wouldnt learn the whole thing unless u want too but the frist 2 or 3 parts are beautiful

this one is up and down

pink floyd-is there anybody out there
I am teaching myself how to fingerpick as well. The song that is really helping me is Hotel California by the Eagles. Give it a shot.