Say I got a new guitar with active pickups but then one day I saw some real nice passive pickups and wanted to replace my active ones.
If I put a battery in the guitar with passive pickups in, would they act like active pickups?
And Second:
If the guitar came with a single-coil tap and I put the new passive pickups in, would they be able to go into single coil mode?

I'll answer any questions.
Thanks in advance.
Yeah, don't do that. But if you did get passive's, you can get ones that will split.
Why would you want to put passive's in if you want them to act like actives in the first place? Leave the actives in it?
"When sh*t becomes valuable, the poor will be born without assholes."
Quote by MetalManiac_86
Yeah, don't do that. But if you did get passive's, you can get ones that will split.
Why would you want to put passive's in if you want them to act like actives in the first place? Leave the actives in it?

Meh, I'm new to pickups. I'm probably not going to do this but I'm just asking 'what if I did?'.

BTW:
the actives will be EMG 81-TW and EMG 89
the passives will be BareKuckle Warpigs.

I wanted to know because I've heard bad things about EMGs and good things about the Warpigs. I don't like the sound EMGs put out compared to others like Duncans but I've yet to hear some bareknuckles.
Why would you switch if you've never heard Bareknuckles before? If you like Duncans, maybe check out some Blackouts.
Quote by captainoid
Why would you switch if you've never heard Bareknuckles before? If you like Duncans, maybe check out some Blackouts.

I've heard good things about bareknuckle, I'll probably get to hear them when consider chagning pickups (if I do) but this is off-topic.

My original question was:

If I put passive pickups in an active p'ups place but kept a battery in:
a) work with the same effect?
b) be worth it?

EDIT:
Guitar is schecter hellraiser c-1
Last edited by CrimsonBizzare at Jan 18, 2009,