I have been playing guitar for almost five years now and I have gotten almost as good (and fast) as I can get (of course not perfect but I can play anything if I spent time with it) but I never really bothered to learn scales since I can find the right notes to play for a solo (I basically find the scale that I am in and doodle around in it until I make up something good and memorize it).
So it is necessary (or viatally important) for me to learn and memorize scales on guitar?
I plann on learning some scales this year when I get time anyways but what are the most important scales that I should learn?
Please reply, it would be greatly appreciated.
Minor Pentatonic,
Harmonic Minor,
Major,
Phrygian.

Those are the coolest in my opinion, majors not cool but it fits really good riffs in some places. Youll probalby find youve made up scales that are actually scales.
The major scale is the cornerstone of very nearly all Western theory. Learn it in every key, all over the fretboard, as well as the theory behind it.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
I think I understand minor scales now, I looked up some lessons earlier on the Major G (minor G, melodic G, petonic(A) G, and petonic(B) G) Scale and the basic concept of minor (WHWWHWW right?)
i just have to memorize all the major scales first and then I should have the minors done automatically as long as I memorize that patter?